Mt. Rushmore #101A, 102A & 106B

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Mt. Rushmore National Memorial, located in the scenic and sacred Black Hills, in the southwest corner of South Dakota, USA, features sixty foot tall likenesses of Presidents (left to right) George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Theodore Roosevelt and Abraham Lincoln.  The monument was sculpted by Danish-American Gutzon Borglum and his son, Lincoln Borglum.  Construction began in 1927 and was originally designed to feature head to waist images of the presidents.  However, lacking of funding halted construction in October of 1941, seven months after the passing of Gutzon.  The memorial has been a part of the U.S. National Park system since 1933.

Note : I sometimes will double-check the quality level of photographs I have posted on WordPress.com on a computer at my local library to verify that the quality of the photographs posted are the same on a computer different from my own.  On more than one occasion, I have been embarrassed by what I saw.  I have tried contacting support to see what could be causing this problem, but have yet to determine what is the exact cause.

If I am fortunate enough to have you view my work, and you find the quality of my photographs lacking, please let me know via a viewer comment.

Steven H. Spring

Leave a Reply

