Flowers #253B, 255A, 256A, 261A, 264A & 270C

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Lilies, whose scientific name is Lilium, has more than one hundred gorgeous species in its family.  There are many plants that have lily in their common name, however, not all are true lilies.  Two examples of this misnomer are Day Lilies and Peace Lilies.  True lilies are mostly native throughout the temperate climatic regions of the northern hemisphere of planet Earth, although the range can extend into the northern subtropics as well.  This range extends across much of Europe, Asia, Japan and the Philippines and across southern Canada and throughout most of the United States.

Lilies are very easy to grow.  They are not especially particular about soil type nor pH level.  Their only requirement is well-drained soil.  Lilies grow best in full sun, however they may thrive in partial sun as well.  An interesting fact about this plant is that most lily bulbs have very thick roots that have the ability to pull the bulb down into the soil at a depth that is most optimum for their continued survival.

Note: I sometimes will double-check the quality level of photographs I have posted on WordPress.com on a computer at my local library to verify that the quality of the photographs posted are the same on a computer different from my own.  On more than one occasion, I have been embarrassed by what I saw.  I have tried contacting support to see what could be causing this problem, but have yet to determine what the exact cause is.

I have also yet to figure out what is causing the uploaded photographs to look slightly askew when viewing the finished posting.  This is not the case of the actual photograph scanned onto my computer (yes, I still proudly shoot film).  I am not sure if the problem is caused by my watermark software or when uploading the photographs to WordPress.com.  Again, I am sometimes embarrassed by the final product, as it appears that I care very little by their actual appearance.  As a neat freak and a perfectionist (both a blessing and a curse), this is far from the truth.

If I am fortunate enough to have you view my work, and you find the quality of my photographs lacking, please let me know via a viewer comment.

Steven H. Spring

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

