Judas Priest #33B, 47B, 22A, 61A & 55A

Judas Priest, a heavy-metal band out of Birmingham, England was formed in 1969 and though still making music, their heyday was the late 1970s though the ’80s.  These photographs were shot at Veterans Memorial Auditorium in Columbus, Ohio on May 4, 1981 during the band’s “World Wide Blitz Tour” in support of their 1981 album “Point Of Entry.”  The band at this time consisted of Rob Halford on lead vocals, K.K. Downing and Glenn Tipton on guitar, Ian Hill on bass and Dave Holland on drums.

I must admit that it was around this time in my life that I stopped listening to not only a more heavy style of rock music but that of rock and roll in general.  Most every rock band or guitarist that has influenced me most throughout my life, and that I still listen to even today has always been more blues-rock, before I progressed even more heavily into the blues.

I have also yet to figure out what is causing the uploaded photographs to look slightly askew when viewing the finished posting.  This is not the case of the actual photograph scanned onto my computer (yes, I still proudly shoot film) nor when I first upload them to my WordPress.com blog page.  Again, I am sometimes embarrassed by the final product, as it appears that I care very little by their actual appearance.  As a neat freak and a perfectionist (both a blessing and a curse), this is far from the truth.

As always, looking at my photos on WordPress.com does not do justice to the 4×6 photographs I hold in my hand.  If I am fortunate enough to have you view my work, and you find the quality of my photographs lacking, please let me know via a viewer comment.

Steven H. Spring

Leave a comment