The Outlaws #113C, 23C, 33B, 17B, 36B, 104B, 19C, 82B, 66C, 79B, 45C, 13D, 7C & 124C

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Outlaws are an American southern-rock band first formed in Tampa, Florida in 1967.  Although still performing, the group’s heyday was during the 1970s.  Blending country and rock and roll, the band released their self-titled debut album in 1975, which included a nearly ten minute long closing number, Green Grass & High Tides.  Lady In Waiting followed during 1976 and Hurry Sundown in 1977.

In 1978, the Outlaws released a live double album Bring It Back Alive, which featured a twenty-one minute workhorse of Green Grass & High Tides.  Due to a printing error, early copies of both cassettes and 8-tracks labeled the album as Bring ‘Em Back Alive.  Buying a cassette of this album in the ship’s store aboard the aircraft carrier USS Ranger (CV-61) when it was first released, I never knew the correct name of the album until this week.  I saw the band open for the Rolling Stones in Anaheim Stadium, in Los Angeles on July 24, 1978.  The stadium featured a large clock and I remember timing Green Grass & High Tides at a little more than twenty-five minutes.  The price of the ticket was $12.50.  Sadly, original members Hughie Thomasson and Frank O’Keefe, along with long-time member Billy Jones have passed away.

These photographs were shot from the fifth row at Veteran’s Memorial Auditorium in Columbus, Ohio on February 22, 1980 during the band’s 1980/81 tour in support of their 1980 album Ghost Riders.  The lineup for this show was: Hughie Thomasson, Billy Jones and Freddie Salem on guitar & vocals, Rick Cua on bass & vocals and David Dix on drums.  The price of the ticket was $8.00.  One wonders if Mr. Thomasson was really an Ohio State fan, or was he merely just pandering to the Buckeye faithful?

One thing I learned how to do during this concert was to load four or five rolls of film into my camera standing on the arm rests of my seat, in the dark all the while the row of seats and probably the entire auditorium was swaying to the beat of the Florida Guitar Army, which when one thinks about it is probably not exactly an easy feat to accomplish.

Steven H. Spring

5 thoughts on “The Outlaws #113C, 23C, 33B, 17B, 36B, 104B, 19C, 82B, 66C, 79B, 45C, 13D, 7C & 124C

  1. Hi Stephen, your photos are just amazing! Billy, Hughie, & Freddie look so exuberant and dynamic! Please contact me on Facebook (I’m a journalist) as I would be thrilled to have your permission to use your photos. Thank you!

    • Arlene, thank you very much for your comment!!! Judging by your Facebook posts, I would be honored to have you use my photos of the Florida Guitar Army. I tried to send you a message and friend request but could not find a way to do so. I hope you checked the box on WordPress to receive notification of this comment. If not, I’ll try again on Facebook to contact you. I had to check these photos to see how good they looked as they were posted 2 years ago, and I wasn’t sure what they looked like. I’ve only been fooling around with the digital aspect of photography for a couple of year, and some of my early stuff I have redone.

      I just bought my first new camera in 33 years the summer before last and have shot slightly more than 30,000 photos, 99.99% are of flowers. I do not know if it’s the new camera, however I feel my photography has greatly improved as I gain some experience with all things digital. I was gonna tell you that I can update these photos with more colorful mats, but then I thought maybe you would want them unframed and unmatted.

      I have a second WordPress page named StevenSpringPhotography, and also a Facebook page with the same name. You can also find me on Facebook under Steven Spring. Get back in touch with me and let me know about the photos.

      Steven

Leave a Reply

