Flowers #3111B, 3097B, 3091B, 3054B, 3050B & 3096B

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

August 3, 2013

Having purchased my first new SLR camera in thirty-three years, replacing my Canon A-1 with an EOS 60D, finally going digital, I have made up for lost time by shooting nearly ten thousand photographs in just two months, nearly every one a flower.  I have noticed when viewing the photos on the camera’s LCD screen, they look vibrant and full of color, but looking at them on my ten-year old computer’s CRT monitor, they just don’t look the same.  Besides matting and framing them, getting them ready to post online, I also tweak the color and brightness as well.  This now has me wondering what my photographs look like to someone with a HD flat screen.

To further compound this issue, I am colorblind.  What might look great to me may look like sh*t to everyone else, without complicating the issue with the variations between CRT and HD monitors.  If I am fortunate to have you view my photographs and you find the color saturation too much or the color schemes of the mats do not match either themselves or the photograph, please let me know via a comment.  Having seen the light, that being my photographs on a LCD monitor, I have decided that I definitely need to buy a HD flat screen for my computer.

Hostas, sometimes called a plantain lily, are of a genus of flowering plants that is made up with as many as forty-five different species.  Native to China, Korea and Japan, Hostas were first imported to Europe in the late 1700s and to America by the mid 1800s.  These plants come in all shapes and sizes and many colors, ranging from four inches wide and three inches tall to four feet wide and six feet high.  Leaves range from bright green, yellow and even blue tones with a texture ranging from smooth to crinkled, dull to glossy.  The flowers are trumpet-like in shape and come in white, lavender, blue and purple.

Hostas are considered shade plants, though too much shade can lead to a slower rate of growth.  These plants do best in gardens with filtered shade available much of the day and prefer rich, moist soil but also well-drained.  Plants with yellow foliage are usually more tolerant of sun while blue foliage Hostas prefers shade.  In my limited garden space, filtered shade is at a premium, and having twenty-five to thirty of these plants in all sizes, I violate the shade rule of thumb often.  Direct sunlight during much of the summer is definitely not ideal for these plants, but it can be done with plenty of watering, although by late summer, the direct sun will take its toll on these shade-loving plants.

Steven H. Spring

Leave a Reply

