Flowers #3311C, 3320C, 3312B, 3325B, 3314C & 3327B

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

August 23, 2013

Having just purchased this past June my first new SLR camera in 33 years, replacing my Canon A-1 with an EOS 60D, finally going digital, I definitely made up for lost time by shooting 10,000 photographs in just the first two months.  Besides having a brand new toy to play with, there are two reasons for shooting so many photos.  One is that I did not buy any new lens.  Owning so many old, manual-focusing FD lens, I have to use an adapter and the camera does not recognize the lens to make the correct settings.  This is not a problem as I have always shot flowers using different aperture and speed settings on every photograph.  The second reason is that shooting flowers is not the easiest thing to do.  Even the gentlest breeze will cause a flower to sway.  And the closer one gets to a flower, the more you notice it swaying.

One of the great features of digital photography is that, besides the ability of viewing each photograph immediately, I can delete any bad photos from the memory card.  That being said, I probably delete twenty-five percent of the photos I shoot.  When you consider that you can shoot anywhere from three to five thousand photographs (depending on your resolution settings) for the price of one roll of film, money is not an issue.

I have also noticed that when viewing the photos on the camera’s LCD screen, they look vibrant and full of color, but looking at them on my ten-year old computer’s CRT monitor, they just don’t look the same.  Besides matting and framing them, getting them ready to post online, I also tweak the color and brightness as well.  This all has me wondering what my photographs look like to someone with a HD flat screen.

To further compound this issue, I am colorblind.  What might look great to me may look like sh*t to everyone else, without complicating the issue with the variations between CRT and HD monitors.  If I am fortunate to have you view my photographs and you find the color saturation too much or the color schemes of the mats do not match either themselves or the photograph, please let me know via a comment.  Having seen the light, that being my photographs on a LCD monitor, I have decided that I definitely need to buy a HD flat screen for my computer.

Lilies, whose scientific name is Lilium, has more than one hundred gorgeous species in its family.  There are many plants that have lily in their common name; however, not all are true Lilies.  Two examples of this misnomer are Day Lilies and Peace Lilies.  True Lilies are mostly native throughout the temperate climate regions of the northern hemisphere of planet Earth, although their range can extend into the northern subtropics as well.  This range extends across much of Europe, Asia, Japan and the Philippines and across southern Canada and throughout most of the United States.

Lilies are very easy to grow.  They are not especially particular about soil neither type nor pH level.  Their only requirement is well-drained soil.  Lilies grow best in full sun; however, they may thrive in partial sun as well.  An interesting fact about this plant is that most Lily bulbs have very thick roots that have the ability to pull the bulb down into the soil at a depth that is most optimum for their continued survival.

Steven H. Spring

Leave a Reply

