The Evolution Of A Photograph; Flowers #4872H, 4872F, 4872D, 4872B & 4872

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

January 11, 2014

Modern technology, specifically digital photography is a wonderful thing.  Although I am a relatively newcomer to digital photography, having bought my first digital camera just this past June, I have been playing with photographic software for several years, manipulating my 4×6 inch film proofs before posting them on this blog.  I did make up for lost time after getting my first new camera in thirty-three years by shooting nearly 15,000 photographs in only four months, 99.99% of which were flowers.  I even broke down and bought the latest edition of Photoshop Elements, however I have yet learned how to use most of its features.  These photographs were adjusted using only the free software download, Google Picasa.

My initial thought was to reverse the order of these five photos, to give you the proper sequential order in which they were adjusted.  However, to catch your eye, I decided to post the finished product first.  I would have liked to have been able to keep the faint leaves in the photo; however, when darkening the images to bring forth more color, the leaves did not survive the process.  Other changes made were to cut and paste different plant petals along the edges and corners.  When I finished editing the photograph, I was amazed at the final result.  My only concern was that I had added to much detail to the photo.

If I am fortunate to have you view my photographs and you find the color saturation too much or the color schemes of the mats do not match either themselves or the photograph, please let me know via a comment.  Being color-blind, what might look great to me might look like sh*t to everyone else!

Steven H. Spring

Leave a Reply

