If I Were The Editor Of Guitar Player Magazine…

February 10, 2014

After reading the article 50 BADASS BLUES SOLOS YOU MUST HEAR in this month’s Guitar Player magazine, and noting that they left out several incredible blues guitarists, I just had to write their new write in feature, If I Were The Editor Of Guitar Player Magazine… to correct this huge oversight.  The only requirement is that letters be limited to seventy-five to hundred words, which necessitated quite a bit of editing on my part to keep it short and to the point.

The following is my reply.

February 7, 2014

Guitar Player
C/o If I Were Editor Of Guitar Player…
2800 Campus Drive
San Mateo, California  94403

Dear Player,

If I were the editor of Guitar Player magazine, I would be kicking myself for excluding so many great blues guitarists from last month’s feature article 50 BADASS BLUES SOLOS YOU MUST HEAR!  Limiting such a list to only fifty blues solos would be a daunting task, and for the most part, I did agree with the majority of the guitarists featured; however, there were a few names that I did not recognize, such as Amos Garrett, Greg Koch, Wilson T. King and Oz Noy.  There were a couple of names I know but would have left off the list, one being John Meyer.

These cats might very well be great pickers, however to include them at the expense of Chris Duarte, Tinsley Ellis, Walter Trout, Jimmy Thackery and Ronnie Earl was a huge oversight on any magazine’s part!

Sincerely,
Steven H. Spring

Leave a Reply

