Flowers #5282C, 5283E, 5283C, 191C, 183G, 5275C, 183E & 183C

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

February 15, 2014

In the midst of a somewhat severe winter, with lots of snow and below normal temperatures, I was recently asked to post some spring flowers, which in my neck of planet Earth means Tulips, Crocus, Irises, Lilies Of The Valley, Hyacinths and Daffodils.  Searching though ten thousand photos of flowers that I have on my computer, I found only a few of those flowers, however none of which stood out as being a great photo, something deemed worthy of posting.  I ended up searching though another couple thousand 4×6 prints of flowers, looking for something decent, before settling on what appears before you.

These eight photographs, in all actuality only five originals, the other three merely cropped, are far from being some of my best work.  They are posted only to fulfill a request from a special, life long friend.  And who am I to turn down a woman’s request.  I was the best man when she married into my family many years ago, and in a scenario right out of a Hollywood comedy, got into an altercation with her father during the reception.  No actual punches were thrown, however, he did have both his hands around my throat at one point.  If not for the request, I would never post these photos.  That being said, I hope you take the time to not only view them, but to either check out my archives or come back to my blog page (I post photos every Saturday night, and thanks to my OCD, it’s every Saturday night at 7:00 p.m. eastern time) to check out some of my better photos.

I did not do a really thorough search of all my 4×6 prints, because, if any of those were any good, they would already be scanned onto my computer.  These photos were those that never made the initial cut, for some reason (such as slightly out of focus, too dark, too light or just not very good) from a roll of developed film down to the file of flower photographs.  I know I have one somewhat decent photo of a Tulip; however, could not find it during my limited search.  I did, however, find maybe forty or fifty photos that with a little bit of tweaking, might turn into something remarkable, several of which already have.

As these spring flowers are the first to spout, there usually isn’t a full background in which to shoot the photo, often only the bare ground.  It’s also common for these flowers to be spouting up through snow.  I find it hard to photograph some of these, such as Irises and Tulips.  There is something about their shape that I have yet to figure out how best to photograph them.  Lilies Of The Valley are also difficult because they grow not far from the ground.  The biggest problem I have is not having enough of these flowers in one location to fill a picture frame.

For whatever reason, I do not have any photographs of these flowers that I would consider decent, let alone very good.  However, that is all about to change as spring is only a little more than a month away.  I bought my first new camera in thirty-three years, finally going digital, this past June, too late in the year for most spring flowers, however I shot almost fifteen thousand photos, nearly every one a flower, in just four months time last summer and fall.  With an entire eight month growing season, I should be able to up that number a little, maybe hit an even twenty-five thousand photographs!

If I am fortunate to have you view my photographs and you find the color saturation too much or the color schemes of the mats do not match either themselves or the photograph, please let me know via a comment.  Being color-blind, what might look great to me might look like sh*t to everyone else!

Steven H. Spring

3 thoughts on “Flowers #5282C, 5283E, 5283C, 191C, 183G, 5275C, 183E & 183C

Leave a Reply

