Sunset Over Plattsburg Road #64D, 65C, 66D, 64B & 66B

March 15, 2014

These photographs were shot about fifteen years ago, at my old farmhouse.  This was the view looking out the kitchen window.  Although there was not a stunning sunset every single night, however, on many nights there was a glorious view as I did the nightly dishes.  I sure do miss living down on the farm.  Growing up in Columbus, Ohio, the old farm sure was a long way from home, not only in actual distance, but life in the fast lane as well.

One thing I loved about living so far out was that I never had to worry about neighbors complaining about playing the stereo too loud, although I did have a sheriff’s deputy come out on two separate occasions.  They could not believe they were reporting a noise complaint.  I did have two speakers, each with a fifteen-inch woofer, on the back porch, sitting up against the windows, facing out, as to be able to rock while gardening.  After my divorce, I bought my first Fender Stratocaster on my fortieth birthday, in pursuit of a life-long dream of one day learning to play the guitar.  Every other Saturday, two brothers (ok, one was technically an ex-brother-in-law, both were divorced, thus the every other Saturday) would come out for the day to pick a little, cook a big meal and partake in some of mother nature’s finer spirits.  We used to rock the old farmhouse.  It is my love of music, and playing the guitar that gives me the will to live to this day.  Oh yeah, I also get much pleasure in dabbling a little in photography as well.

Taken that long ago, needless to say, these photos were shot on film, and the 4×6 prints were scanned onto my computer, where they were tweaked just a little, adjusting both the color and brightness/darkness levels, before matting and framing them.  As such, looking at these photos online does not do justice to the original 4×6 photographs, as some of the sharpness was lost.

If I am fortunate to have you view my photographs and you find the color saturation too much or the color schemes of the mats do not match either themselves or the photograph, please let me know via a comment.  Being color-blind, what might look great to me might look like sh*t to everyone else!

Steven H. Spring

Leave a comment